Manage your Account

Rachmaninov's Third Piano Concerto

WASO | Masters Series

  • Friday, 8 Mar 2024 - 7:30PM
  • Saturday, 9 Mar 2024 - 7:30PM

*view multiple performance dates above

A dramatic dawn

In a breathtaking display of talent, world-renowned pianist Yeol Eum Son makes her WASO debut with Rachmaninov's demanding Third Piano Concerto.

Composed at the peak of his creativity, Strauss' sumptuous tone poem depicts the full richness of a heroic life – swaggering and grandiose, exuberantly playful and tender.

Evoking the first flickers of dawn and reflecting the starkness and beauty of the Australian landscape, our Masters series opens with a moving celebration of Country composed and conducted by Noongar musician, Aaron Wyatt.


Aaron WYATT The Coming Dawn
Sergei RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No.3
Richard STRAUSS Ein Heldenleben


Asher Fisch conductor
Yeol Eum Son piano
Aaron Wyatt conductor
Richard Walley didgeridoo


25-minute interval*
Finish 9:30pm*

*Times are approximate and subject to change at any time.


Menus will be available closer to the concert date. 

See the full WASO 2024 Season.

Presented by West Australian Symphony Orchestra.

Asher Fisch appears courtesy of Wesfarmers Arts.

First Nations Creative Collaborations are supported by the Bendat Family Foundation.