Manage your Account

Jessica Cottis conducts Dvořak’s New World

WASO | Masters Series

  • Friday, 22 Apr 2022 - 7:30PM
  • Saturday, 23 Apr 2022 - 7:30PM

*view multiple performance dates above

Buy Now

Soul-stirring romantic favourites

The bright lights and bustling streets give a hero’s welcome to the new world in one of the most popular symphonies of all time. Dvořak’s brilliant Ninth Symphony featured in WASO’s very first concert in 1928 and remains a Perth-audience favourite with its exquisite, yearning Largo second movement and powerful, profound finale.

We open this concert with a world premiere from award-winning Australian composer Elliott Gyger, followed by Ravel’s darkly brilliant Piano Concerto for the Left Hand, performed by Finnish virtuoso Paavali Jumppanen.


Elliott GYGER Concerto for Orchestra (World Premiere)*
Maurice RAVEL Piano Concerto for the Left Hand
Antonín DVOŘÁK Symphony No.9 From the New World

*Elliott Gyger’s Concerto for Orchestra commissioned for WASO by Geoff Stearn.


Jessica Cottis conductor
Paavali Jumppanen piano


Finish 9:30pm*
Includes a 25 minutes interval*

*Times are approximate and subject to change at any time.


Menus will be available closer to the concert date. 


  • Prior to an event if you are feeling unwell, we ask you please do not attend the performance and contact our Box Office on either or 9231 9999 to discuss the options for your tickets. 
  • Health and safety guidelines for the venue can be found here.

See the full WASO 2022 Season.

Presented by West Australian Symphony Orchestra