Manage your Account

Sibelius and Brahms

MACA Classics Series

  • Friday, 20 Aug 2021 - 7:30PM
  • Saturday, 21 Aug 2021 - 7:30PM

*view multiple performance dates above

Buy Now

Drama and lyricism by two of the greats.

Sibelius’ concerto begins with one of the most captivating openings in the repertoire – and Brahms’ symphony with one of the most imposing and intense. Although both composers struggled to produce final versions of their works, Sibelius revising his concerto after its disastrous premiere and Brahms painstakingly shaping his symphony over 20 years, they produced two of their greatest masterpieces, beloved by audiences worldwide.


Gabriel FAURÉ Pavane
Jean SIBELIUS Violin Concerto
Johannes BRAHMS Symphony No.1


Asher Fisch conductor*
Grace Clifford violin

*Appears courtesy of Wesfarmers Arts


Start: 7:30pm
Finish: 9:30pm*
Includes a 25 minutes interval*

Start: 7:30pm
Finish: 9:30pm*
Includes a 25 minutes interval*

*Times are approximate and subject to change at any time.


DINNER  menu available closer to event date

- menu available closer to event date 
No bookings necessary. 

PLEASE NOTE: Prior to an event if you are feeling unwell, we ask you please do not attend the performance and contact our Box Office on either or 9231 9999 to discuss the options for your tickets. 

See full WASO 2021 Season here

Presented by West Australian Symphony Orchestra