Manage your Account

Karina Canellakis & Ning Feng: Russian Masterworks

*view multiple performance dates above

Buy Now

Presented by West Australian Symphony Orchestra

Masters Series

Music of war and freedom from Prokofiev and Shostakovich.

The most profound of Shostakovich’s ‘War Symphonies’ echoes the suffering of 1943 on a tremendous scale, ferocious and harrowing. A statement of personal grief amid mass devastation, the poignant ending yearns not for heroic victory, but for peace.

Prokofiev was on the verge of returning to Russia after decades in the West when he wrote his bittersweet Second Violin Concerto. Ning Feng returns to astonish WASO audiences with his effortless, soaring virtuosity.

Ning Feng demonstrated the form that places him well to the forefront of violin virtuosi... he wooed and won the heart of every listener."  - The West Australian


PROKOFIEV Violin Concerto No.2


Karina Canellakis conductor (pictured) (WASO debut)
Ning Feng violin

Running Times

Finishes approx. 9:30pm
Includes 20 min. interval

Times are approximate and subject to change at any time.


Karina Canellakis
Post-concert Saturday night