Manage your Account

Bach Violin Concertos

"Richard Tognetti is one of the most characterful, incisive and impassioned violinists to be heard today." The Daily Telegraph (UK) 

Experience the soulful beauty and timeless genius of JS Bach with Richard Tognetti and the ACO. Johann Sebastian Bach is the greatest polyphonist of all time. To hear Bach’s writing for solo violin, violin and orchestra, two violins and orchestra, and three violins and orchestra is to hear genius at work. Bach achieves the most remarkable effects with just one instrument in a single musical line. Pure magic!

With Richard Tognetti at the helm for these performances, you will experience his vision of Bach’s magnificent writing for violin – a vision that has earned him three consecutive ARIA awards for his recordings of Bach’s violin works.

Rounding out the program are two glorious symphonies from the “Father of the Symphony”, Franz Joseph Haydn. Haydn wrote more than one hundred symphonies, with these two cracking examples sitting right up there among his greatest.

PRE-CONCERT TALK 6:45pm Terrace Level Foyer: Fiona Campbell


BACH (arr. Richard Tognetti) Preludio from Violin Partita No.3 in E major
BACH Violin Concerto No.2 in E major
BACH Sarabande from Cello Suite No.4 in E-flat major
HAYDN Symphony No.22 in E-flat major The Philosopher
BACH Concerto for Two Violins in D minor
BACH Concerto for Three Violins in D major
HAYDN Symphony No.27 in G major


Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Helena Rathbone Violin
Satu Vänskä Violin
Timo-Veikko Valve Cello


  • Under 30 tickets are $49 for anyone aged 30 years and under for ACO Concerts. A valid proof of ID must be presented.
  • $20 Student Rush tickets are available at the box office an hour before each concert. A valid full-time student ID card must be presented upon purchase to receive the discount.

PRESENTED BY Australian Chamber Orchestra

FOOD MENU: Grab & Go