Manage your Account

Silence & Rapture

Australian Chamber Orchestra

  • Wednesday, 14 Aug 2024 - 7:30PM
Buy Now

Under the direction of Artistic Director Richard Tognetti, the Australian Chamber Orchestra is one of the most acclaimed chamber orchestras in the world, renowned for their inspired programming, unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality.

A mesmerising collaboration with Sydney Dance Company featuring countertenor Iestyn Davies and the music of Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt.

Composing three centuries apart, Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt’s timeless music speaks to the human soul. From rockstars and writers to artists and filmmakers, these composers are revered by music lovers across genres and generations. The last time the ACO performed their music together, it was a sell-out.

Richard Tognetti directs this mesmerising collaboration between the ACO and Sydney Dance Company that brings together music, movement and evocative lighting to create something truly extraordinary.

Expressing the luminous longing at the heart of this music is choreography from Rafael Bonachela, Artistic Director Sydney Dance Company, while Gramophone Award-winning countertenor Iestyn Davies, whose performances have been described as “a pleasure that verges on the sublime” (The Guardian) makes his Australian debut, bringing these stirring melodies to life.

Bach and Pärt’s music is rooted in human experience while reaching towards the divine. This program promises to be a season highlight and a deeply affirming experience.


Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Iestyn Davies Countertenor
Rafael Bonachela Choreographer & Artistic Director, Sydney Dance Company
Stefanie Farrands Viola
Timo-Veikko Valve Cello
Chad Kelly Organ & Harpsichord
Artists from Sydney Dance Company
Australian Chamber Orchestra


JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH Kanon zu acht Stimmen, BWV1072
ARVO PÄRT Collage über B-A-C-H: I. Toccata

Garden of Eden
BACH Cantata “Wiederstehe doch des Sunde”, BWV54: Aria “Wer Sünde tut, der ist vom Teufel”
BACH Sonata for Violin and Keyboard in A major: I. Dolce
BACH Cantata “Ich bin ein guter Hirt”, BWV85: Aria “Jesus ist ein guter Hirt”
PÄRT Fratres

Garden of Gethsemane
BACH Sonata for Solo Violin No.2 in A minor: III. Andante
BACH St Matthew Passion: “Erbarme Dich”
PÄRT Für Lennart in memoriam
PÄRT My Heart’s in the Highlands

Garden of Heaven
BACH Cantata “Der Herr denket an uns”, BWV196: Sinfonia
PÄRT Vater unser
BACH Cello Suite No.3 in C major: I. Prelude
BACH Magnificat: “Et exultavit”

Into Silence
PÄRT Pari intervallo
BACH The Art of Fugue: Fuga a 3 Soggetti (unfinished)
PAUL HINDEMITH Trauermusik: IV. Sehr langsam


Concessions apply to
Commonwealth Healthcare cardholders

$25 tickets available for full time students. Proof of current study must be produced before tickets are issued.
B, C and D-Reserves only.

Under 35 years 
$35 tickets available for people aged under 35 years at the date of the concert. Valid proof of age must be produced.
A, B, C and D-Reserves only.

Mobile tickets
 will be emailed shortly after the order confirmation.

A one-off handling fee of $6.90 applies to all web, phone, mail and in-person bookings. An additional fee of $4.40 per transaction applies for delivery via Registered Post. All ticket / item prices include GST, if applicable.


Start 7:30pm
20-minute interval*
Finish 9:30pm*

*Times are approximate and subject to change at any time.


A Grab & Go menu will be made available closer to the event. 

See the full ACO 2024 Season

Presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra