Manage your Account

Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto

MACA Limited Classics Series

  • Friday, 26 Jun 2020 - 7:30PM
  • Saturday, 27 Jun 2020 - 7:30PM

*view multiple performance dates above

Buy Now

Expansive wonder of Sibelius and Rautavaara.

If you’ve ever paid a visit to Heirisson Island at dusk, you’ll know that feeling when you hear the call of the swan; awestruck, contented, inspired. Rautavaara’s concerto for birds and orchestra sets the scene for Sibelius’ fifth symphony, a work of unbridled orchestral ecstasy inspired by swans in flight and infused with lustrous images of the expansive landscape of his native Finland.

Macedonian superstar Simon Trpčeski joins WASO to take on arguably the greatest piano concerto ever written, Rachmaninov’s stormy and majestic second.


RAUTAVAARA Cantus arcticus
RACHMANINOV Piano Concerto No.2 
SIBELIUS Symphony No.5


Dalia Stasevska conductor 
Simon Trpčeski piano


Start: 7:30pm
Finish: 9:30pm*
25 minute interval*

*Times are approximate and subject to change at any time.


Menu available closer to event. 

See full 2020 season

Presented by the West Australian Symphony Orchestra