Manage your Account

Arvo Pärt & Shostakovich | CANCELLED

  • Wednesday, 1 Apr 2020 - 7:30PM

We have been formally notified by Australian Chamber Orchestra that Arvo Pärt & Shostakovich on Wednesday 1 April has been cancelled.

Please read their formal statement here.

All ticket holders will be receiving an email shortly.

Great art and the Soviet regime.  Joy and creativity can’t be held down forever, so even in the darkest decades of cruel oppression that spread from Soviet Russia through Eastern Europe in the 20th century, music bloomed and imaginations flew. Humour, black as some of it may have been, also thrived. This was life, as the Russians like to say, “laughing through tears”. Estonian Arvo Pärt is one of the most performed and influential living composers. In his deeply loved work Tabula Rasa, for two violins, prepared piano and orchestra, he extends “small steps of tolerance to the world”, seeking spirituality and independence through silence and harmony.

Meanwhile, within Russia, Shostakovich and Prokofiev represented two still hotly contested strands: the supposed collaborators and the resisters. Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony in C minor, a signature piece for the virtuosic ACO, was a lament for victims of fascism and war, but also an act of self-reflection whose movements evolve from elegy and brutal force into acceptance and farewell. Resistance will be whispered, literally, during Saariaho’s Nymphéa: Misterioso. The short piece by the Finnish composer, whose country has always had a complicated and delicate relationship with its large neighbour, Russia, includes a poem by the great 20th-century Russian poet, Arseny Tarkovsky, which will be whispered by members of the Orchestra.

Australian Chamber Orchestra 2020 Season

Full Season Subscriptions now on sale via Australian Chamber Orchestra
Perth Concert Hall Flexi Subscriptions Packages - Thursday 10 October 9:00am 
Perth Concert Hall Single Tickets - Thursday 31 October 9:00am 


Richard Tognetti Director & Violin
Satu Vanska Violin
Australian Chamber Orchestra


Student tickets only $25 - B and C_Reserve, full time students only)
Under 30 tickets only $49 - does not apply to Premium)


KILAR Orawa 8′
ARVO PÄRT Tabula Rasa 26′
PROKOFIEV Sonata for Solo Violin in D major* 13′
KAIJA SAARIAHO Nymphéa: Misterioso (arr. strings) – Australian Premiere 3′
SHOSTAKOVICH Chamber Symphony (arr. Barshai) 23′


Start 7:30pm
Finishes approx. 9.30pm
Includes 20 min. interval

Times are approximate and subject to change at any time.


Open from 5.30pm for pre-show dinner and barista coffee and cake post-show. Dinner bookings essential, click here for more info.

Grab & Go - click here
Available pre-show at this event. Meals you will often find at this station range from curries, braises, gourmet burgers and substantial salads, right through to lighter options as sushi, special fries and gourmet pies.
A menu will be added to this event page closer to the event. 

Presented by Australian Chamber Orchestra