Manage your Account

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment & Rachel Podger

Buy Now

Britain’s most revolutionary orchestra makes its first, widely anticipated full tour of Australia in 2017 with Musica Viva. This breaking ground Orchestra is a band of 20 expert musicians, playing on authentic instruments and led by the acclaimed violinist Rachel Podger.

The wonderful, forward-looking, revolutionary epoch which gives the Orchestra its name is brought to enchanting life through heavenly violin concertos by Mozart, and a sparkling sinfonia by his teacher Johann Christian Bach. Haydn’s Symphony no 36 sets the tone perfectly, as the epitome of grace – not least in a ravishing slow movement which is practically a tiny violin concerto in itself.

Lovers of chamber music adore the OAE as a kind of supersized chamber ensemble. Each player brings a soloistic level of talent and engagement to a greater whole – and the effect is unforgettable!

HAYDN Symphony no 26 in E-flat major
MOZART Violin Concerto no 1 in B-flat major, K207
JC BACH Symphony in G minor, op 6 no 6
MOZART Violin Concerto no 5 in A major, K219

RACHEL PODGER director and violin


  • Under 30 tickets are $30 for anyone aged 30 years and under for Musica Viva concerts. A valid proof of ID must be presented.
  • $15 Student Rush tickets are available at the box office an hour before each concert. A valid full-time student ID card must be presented upon purchase to receive the discount.


Concessions apply to full-time mature age students, means-tested Australian pensioners (Aged, Disability, Veteran’s Affairs and Supporting Parent), Seniors Card Holders WITH a government health care card, and all other Health Care card holders.

MENU: Grab & Go

PRESENTED BY Musica Viva Australia

Tour supported by the Musica Viva Amadeus Society